What is despatch notification
Once an order is processed in Linnworks, the system can send a despatch notification to the Channel so that the order is marked as Shipped, and Tracking number (if available) along with the selected Shipping Vendor will be submitted to the channel. In order to achieve this, the corresponding option needs to be enabled in Channel Integration.
How to enable and check despatch notifications
To enable despatch notifications, you need to go to Settings > Channel Integration > Edit Channel Details > Order - Despatch Notes. This setting needs to be enabled individually for each channel.
- Information about despatch notifications is stored in the Audit Trail of the order. In order to check whether Linnworks has submitted it to the channel, you need to go to Processed Orders > right-click on the order > View > View Order > Audit Trail. If the despatch notification was sent, you will be able to see a record along the lines of: Order Despatch Submitted.
- There may also be a record stating that order despatch has failed. The system also usually indicates a reason for the failure in the same Audit Trail record.
Despatch notification is enabled, but the despatch note was not sent
As a rule, Linnworks will not send despatch notes if the option was enabled after the order was processed. However, this is not true for all channels with the notable exception currently being eBay. So if you want to make sure that despatch notes are not sent to the channel in some situation, please discuss it with the technical support team first.
Despatch notes will not be submitted to the channel if original items in the order were removed and/or replaced. If you want despatch notes to be sent to the channel, you need to make sure that the original items remain in the order.
As a rule, issues like that can happen with Amazon, Magento, eBay and other channels which use item reference number in despatch notes, and allow you to mark separate items in the order as shipped. If you change the order item, it will no longer have the original channel reference number and the order on the channel will not be marked as shipped.
Please keep in mind that when Linnworks sends despatch notifications, it also sends the current timestamp to the channel. If an order has previously been processed on the channel manually and then later processed in Linnworks, then the despatch notification from Linnworks will overwrite the original timestamp which can lead to issues with late despatch on certain channels.
For more information on despatch notes for each specific channel, please refer to the following articles: